Holiday Hiatus/Grandparents/and Blessings

Saludos,

I recently found out that my Grandpa’s health took a turn for the worst.  I knew he had cancer when I left but I was under the impression he would be able to make it at least another year.  However, now it appears he will not be with us too far into 2015.  My parents offered to fly my down for the Thanksgiving and Christmas to say goodbye to him.  After talking with Felix and God (not in that order) I accepted their generous gift and returned to WA for the holidays.  I will return to the DR on the second of January.

I cannot articulate the blessing it is to be able to spend time with my grandpa.  He is the strongest, toughest, and hardest working man I have ever met.  I thank God daily for giving me such an amazing person to look up to and learn from.  When I saw him for the first time since being back I was slightly caught off guard because of how much different he looked.  It is difficult to see someone, who for my entire life has been a symbol of strength and fortitude, appear so weak and physically dependent.  However, soon after our conversation began, I realized that what he had lost physically he had gained spiritually and (gracias a Dios) he still had his wonderful and slightly dry sense of humor.  I told him about my experiences in the Dominican Republic and how I cannot wait to go back.  I mentioned how, in actuality, we are all homeless because our true home is in Heaven!  So, in a sad but also happy way, I told him that he’s going home and that I cannot wait to see him there!

Lord, blessed be your Holy name and thank you so much for all the blessings you have given me, especially my grandpa.  Please allow me, and my entire family, to know what a special grace it is to suffer, because through suffering we become like the Savior.  I offer You all of my fears, uncertainties, and pain.  Please also continue to bless and protect the homeless community in the Dominican Republic.

Amen,

To my Grandpa:

Grandpa, thank you so much for all the gifts and opportunities you have given me, but thank you even more for being such an example of how live, work, and most importantly, love.  Please do not be afraid, because God is with you and loves you even more than I do.  As sad as I am about this recent news, I am surprisingly happy for you, because you deserve the eternal glory that is waiting for you in the Kingdom of Heaven.  I will never forget you Grandpa and I will pass your amazing story down for as long as I live.

Leave a Reply

